Odysseys (Ben Winkelman Trio)  1 - Unnamed

Odysseys is the latest album from the award winning Ben Winkelman Trio.
Following the critically acclaimed The Spanish Tinge (2007 AIR Award winner for Best Independent Jazz Release) and Stomps, Pieces and Variations (2006 Australian Jazz Bell Award nominee for Best Classic Jazz Album), the Ben Winkelman Trio continues to explore new possibilities for the jazz piano trio.
Odysseys’ nine original compositions showcase the breadth of Winkelman’s musical interests, including his enthusiasm for Cuban and Brazilian rhythms, resulting in a warm and diverse soundscape.
The title refers to the two title tracks The Seven Odyssey and The Five Odyssey  - long form compositions based around claves (Cuban rhythmic cells) in seven four and five four time.
The Ben Winkelman Trio are: Ben Winkelman – piano, Sam Anning – bass, Ben Vanderwal – drums.
Let yourself be immersed in these captivating rhythms and beautiful melodies.
Odysseys out now on Jazzhead.


For more information about Ben Winkelman and releases, click here to go to the artist page

Track Listing Show

  1. The Seven Odyssey
  2. Vampires
  3. Quandaries
  4. Dislocation
  5. Symmetry
  6. Stevie's Warm Chords
  7. Avian Melancholy
  8. Steppin' To
  9. The Five Odyssey