Live (Paul Williamson Quartet) 1 - Unnamed

Jazz trumpeter Paul Williamson has established a pattern of producing distinctive recordings and exhibiting outstanding ensemble performances. Paul Williamson Quartet: LIVE epitomises this approach. This thrilling release is Williamson’s 9th album.

LIVE features choice jazz standards from a selection of composers ranging from American Harry Warren's 1931 composition You're My Everything to Miles Davis’ Tune Up and the quirky Thelonious Monk tune Rhythm A Ning, to name a few.

The spirited and adventurous interpretations of classic jazz standards, recorded live at Bennetts Lane Jazz Club and Uptown Jazz Café, features the synchronicity and exuberance of Allan Browne (drums), Marc Hannaford (piano) and Sam Pankhurst (double bass).  

Paul Williamson Quartet: LIVE exhibits Williamson’s desire to create music featuring improvised dialogues and interaction of complementary individual conceptions.  It is music designed to reach beyond jazz formulas and clichés and remains grounded within the diverse traditions of jazz and improvised music. Great!


Williamson has performed with international jazz artists at festivals and venues in the United States, Europe, Asia, and throughout Australia. He was active on the European jazz scene whilst based in Dublin, performing with Bill Carothers, Dave Liebman, Reggie Washington, Paul Wertico, Ronan Guilfoyle, Lindsay Horner, Michael Buckley and Métier until returning to Melbourne in 2009.  His recent performances include collaborations with Charlie Haden, John Abercrombie, the Australian Art Orchestra, Hermeto Pascoal, Aaron Goldberg, Django Bates and Mark Helias, as well as his own projects ‘Inside Out’, ‘By a Thread’ and ‘Connect Four’.

In addition to an active recording career, Williamson is busy as a performer and educator.  He is a lecturer in jazz and faculty member at the esteemed Sir Zelman Cowan School of Music at Monash University, which produces some of Australia’s finest jazz musicians.



3 - OzCoSmall




*** Jazzhead and this project have been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.

Track Listing Show

  1. Tune Up
    Composer: Miles Davis Arr: Williamson, Browne, Hannaford, Pankhurst
  2. Stompin' At The Savoy
    Edgar Sampson Arr: Williamson, Browne, Hannaford, Pankhurst
  3. If I Were A Bell
    Frank Loesser Arr: Williamson, Browne, Hannaford, Pankhurst
  4. You're My Everything
    Harry Warren Arr: Williamson, Browne, Hannaford, Pankhurst
  5. Rhythm-a-Ning
    Thelonius Monk Arr: Williamson, Browne, Hannaford, Pankhurst