Fiveways: At Chapel Off Chapel (Jex Saarelaht Quartet)1 - Fiveways

Fiveways is the compelling new release from the Jex Saarelaht Quartet, featuring Niko Schäuble (drums), Julien Wilson (tenor saxophone), Jonathan Zwartz (double bass) and Jex Saarelaht (piano).

This set of five original compositions by distinguished pianist and composer Jex Saarelaht, was recorded at the ensemble's debut performance at Chapel Off Chapel, during Stonnington Jazz 2009.

Saarelaht has performed and recorded with an astounding A to Z of Australian and international musicians; including Kate Ceberano, Vince Jones, Chris Wilson and John Butler, to Sheila Jordan, Eddie Henderson, Camille O’Sullivan and Steve Lacy. From his six-piece band who supported Dizzy Gillespie in ’86, to the groove-based Dianna Kiss, featuring Ross Hannaford and Russell Smith (and an incredible 11 year residency at St Kilda’s famed Esplanade Hotel) to forming the Jex Saarelaht Trio with Niko Schäuble (drums) and Philip Rex (bass) in ’93, with many a formation, performance and recording in between, Saarelaht has been a driving force of the Australian music scene.

In 2006 he was awarded the Melbourne Jazz Fringe Festival’s inaugural Composer Commission, resulting in the 30min piece ‘For Love Of Ivor’.

Niko Schäuble’s work is documented on more than fifty recordings and a host of Australian and international awards confirm his standing as one of the world’s leading performers and composers.

Julien Wilson, winner of the 1994 National Jazz Award, the 2006 Freedman Fellowship, was named Australian Jazz Artist of the Year in 2008 and is one of the country’s most distinctive, accomplished and in demand musicians.

Jonathan Zwartz, well known as double bass player for artists such as Tina Harrod, Vince Jones and Bernie McGann released his debut album as composer and leader ‘The Sea’, which subsequently won two 2010 Australian Jazz Bell Awards, including best composition.

Out now on Jazzhead.


For more information about Jex Saarelaht, click here to go to the artist page

Track Listing Show

  1. Threeways
  2. Thirteen/Two Minds
  3. Five-Nineteen
  4. Poorly
  5. Pepperman